Pulling Off the Band-Aid

So, as I mentioned in my previous post (below and some posts from earlier) the best way of facing something is by mustering up your courage and ripping off that band aid as fast as you could.

(I originally meant to post this before I went on my trip on the 15th, so sorry that this is essentially a half-month late.)

I had been dealing with some people in my life that weren’t exactly good for me – as in I’d been taking a lot of their issues and combining it with my own. They were getting to the point where they were essentially toxic, but because I saw them frequently, I couldn’t get rid of them. And, I didn’t really know how to.

When I went home this last time, I was very, very ill. And while I did actually stress myself out to the point that I was ill, (if you remember my luggage fiasco and how it heightened my anxiety – yeah great times) I was fairly certain that I caught something.

So, I’m at home and stressing out because of everything going on and I’m too ill to return home on time, and my sleep schedule is getting all wacked out. As in, I’m sleeping at 3pm and waking up around 2 am, completely. And my mom was telling me that I told her that I would just continue sleeping it off.

Which is fine, but I wish that my sleepy self would wake up so that I could spend some time with her. However, I was sick, so it’s okay. It’s just one of those things that I think about when I’m home, “you could have spent more time with everyone“.

That’s another topic for later.

But I came home and I realized that I need to face my fears and just swipe that stupid Band-Aid that didn’t need to be there in the first place, and I did it. It just took enough stress for it to affect my body (I lost 12 pounds that week according to Weight Watchers) and for me to finally tell my parents what has been going on and just “come clean” with everything.

My advice to you, is when you start recognizing these signs, just deal with it. I know it’s hard to actually follow through with that advice, but it’s really important if you do. Not only will you create a better environment for yourself, but you will also not be stressed out to the point of illness.

Thanks as always, and happy New Year.

Kay

Leave a Reply

