Coping with my Anxiety

Anxiety reminds me of my favorite flower, the cherry blossom, but the mental image of cherry blossoms calm me down.

My anxiety comes in spouts, just like my depression, and it normally hits me when I think when I am really nervous about something, or I’m doing something that I wouldn’t normally do in my normal “routine”.

But even getting a phone interview, it can strike in the middle of that. It gets rough, but I cope by the thoughts of traveling, or even a story line that I’ve made up to just push on through it.

It used to be worse, it used to be when I was driving. I’ve been in almost 3 car accidents where a semi truck has almost hit me, and that was something that set off my anxiety. Now, I can just listen loudly to EDM or other trance music, and it helps me by pushing on through.

I guess what I’m saying is that there is no perfect way to help deal with anxiety, but for me, it’s always been to visualize something else. And that, and to try to regulate my breathing in case I’m crying and I don’t choke up.

Instead of just rushing to take the medication, I would rather try to deal with it on a more “realistic” way, that and I don’t want to be constantly hooked on medication. I don’t think I have an addictive personality, but to be honest, I’m worried about almost everything these days.

Anyways, I don’t think I will ever be “cured” of anxiety, but I think the best method is to try to find a coping mechanism that can make me stronger. Not that I’m not strong without anxiety, it actually helps me remember that I’m not completely invincible, which is also something I need.

Well until next time,

Kay

Leave a Reply

